Doctorate (PhD)

in Population Health

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

"Population health refers to the health of a population as measured by health status indicators and as influenced by social, economic and physical environments, personal health practices, individual capacity and coping skills, human biology, early childhood development, and health services. As an approach, population health focuses on the interrelated conditions and factors that influence the health of populations over the life course, identifies systematic variations in their patterns of occurrence, and applies the resulting knowledge to develop and implement policies and actions to improve the health and well-being of those populations.
- Federal, Provincial and Territorial Advisory Committee on Population Health (ACPH), 1997.

The bilingual, PhD in Population Health challenges students to address population health issues, determinants and causes of health, design of multi-level interventions, health systems, and health policy, grounded within interdisciplinary theoretical frameworks. Students integrate and apply knowledge from social, biological, clinical, organizational, and political sciences to generate new knowledge and advance the science of population health. Graduates will develop analytic and research skills to apply rigorous scientific methods to studies of population health, and develop knowledge, skills and experience to function as effective interdisciplinary researchers, health policy makers, health-care providers, legislators, and managers in the health sector.

The program is bilingual, and requires students to have at least a passive knowledge of both French and English.

RESEARCH AREAS

Research Areas of Specialization

Male and Female Business Workers in Conference Room Have Discussion about Statistics and Graphs Shown on a Presentation TV
  • Indigenous health
  • Population health intervention
  • Environmental, developmental and social factors of youth health
  • Prevention, treatment and support of youth health
  • Psychosocial, sociocultural and behavioral determinants of health
  • Environmental determinants of health (including environment-gene interactions)
  • Ethical, legal, and social issues in health, health systems and health research
  • Aging process and social and biological determinants of aging
  • Environmental and occupational health and safety
  • Epidemiology
  • Health promotion and disease prevention
  • Health equity
  • Sex and gender-based analysis
  • Gender and health relationship
  • Global health
  • Health and gender based violence
  • Military and veterans' health
  • Etiology of disease and conditions
  • Nutritional epidemiology
  • One Health approach
  • Other population health intervention, n.e.c.

PROFESSORS

Thesis advisory committee members and thesis examiners

Potential supervisors, thesis advisory committee members and thesis examiners

Sexual, Reproductive and Women’s Health

Adamo, Kristi: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/adamo-kristi , https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/adamo-kristi

Bainbridge-Whiteside, Shannon: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/bainbridge-shannon, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/bainbridge-shannon

Crighton, Eric: https://www.uottawa.ca/environment/people/crighton-eric https://www.uottawa.ca/environnement/personnes/crighton-eric

Foster, Angel : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/foster-angel-m, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/foster-angel-m

Frigon, Sylvie : https://research.uottawa.ca/people/frigon-sylvie, https://recherche.uottawa.ca/personnes/frigon-sylvie

Hawken, Steven: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/hawken-steven,

Peterson, Wendy: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/peterson-wendy, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/peterson-wendy

Phillips, Karen: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/phillips-karen, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/phillips-karen

Polomeno, Viola : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/polomeno-viola, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/polomeno-viola

Sethna, Christabelle : http://web5.uottawa.ca/www2/mcs-smc/media/experts-details-12744.html

http://web5.uottawa.ca/www2/mcs-smc/medias/specialistes-details-12744.html

Walker, Mark: https://med.uottawa.ca/obs-gyne/people/walker-mark

Nutrition and Community Health

Dubois, Lise : https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/dubois-lise

Fontaine-Bisson      , Bénédicte : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/fontaine-bisson-benedicte, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/fontaine-bisson-benedicte

Giroux, Isabelle : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/giroux-isabelle, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/giroux-isabelle

Hammami, Riadh: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/hammami-riadh, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/hammami-riadh

Potvin-Kent, Monique: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/potvin-kent-monique

Rioux, France : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/rioux-france, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/rioux-france

Udenigwe, Chibuike: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/udenigwe-chibuike, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/udenigwe-chibuike

Global Health

Deonandan, Raywat: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/deonandan-raywat , https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/deonandan-raywat

Kulkarni, Manisha : https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/kulkarni-manisha,

Labonté, Ronald : https://research.uottawa.ca/people/labonte-ronald, https://recherche.uottawa.ca/personnes/labonte-ronald

Tugwell, Peter: https://research.uottawa.ca/people/tugwell-peter,

Yaya, Sanni: https://web5.uottawa.ca/www2/mcs-smc/media/experts-details-998315.html

https://web5.uottawa.ca/www2/mcs-smc/medias/specialistes-details-998315.html

Health Economics and Health Law

Attaran, Amir: https://commonlaw.uottawa.ca/en/people/attaran-amir, https://commonlaw.uottawa.ca/fr/personnes/attaran-amir

Coyle, Douglas: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/coyle-doug

Devlin, Rose : https://www.canadiancentreforhealtheconomics.ca/directory/rose-ann-devlin/

Giroux, Michelle: https://droitcivil.uottawa.ca/fr/personnes/giroux-michelle

Vanessa Gruben: https://commonlaw.uottawa.ca/en/people/gruben-vanessa

Yaya, Sanni: https://web5.uottawa.ca/www2/mcs-smc/media/experts-details-998315.html

https://web5.uottawa.ca/www2/mcs-smc/medias/specialistes-details-998315.html

Environmental Health, Population Health Risk Assessment

Crighton, Eric: https://www.uottawa.ca/environment/people/crighton-eric, https://www.uottawa.ca/environnement/personnes/crighton-eric

Gomes, James: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/gomes-james, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/gomes-james

Kenny, Glen: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/kenny-glen, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/kenny-glen

Konkle, Anne : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/konkle-anne

https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/konkle-anne

Krewski, Daniel: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/krewski-daniel,

Phillips, Karen: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/phillips-karen, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/phillips-karen

Quality of Life

Egan, Mary: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/egan-mary, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/egan-mary

Garcia, Linda : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/garcia-linda, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/garcia-linda

Marcoux, Isabelle : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/marcoux-isabelle, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/marcoux-isabelle

Community Health

Aubry, Tim: https://uniweb.uottawa.ca/members/1026

Crighton, Eric: https://www.uottawa.ca/environment/people/crighton-eric, https://www.uottawa.ca/environnement/personnes/crighton-eric

Dallaire, Christine : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/dallaire-christine, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/dallaire-christine

Dumas, Alexandre : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/dumas-alex , https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/dumas-alex

Edwards, Nancy: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/edwards-nancy , https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/edwards-nancy

Laperrière, Hélène : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/laperriere-helene, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/laperriere-helene

Lemyre, Louise : https://research.uottawa.ca/people/lemyre-louise,

Lennox Terrion, Jenepher: https://web5.uottawa.ca/www2/mcs-smc/medias/experts-details-528.html

https://web5.uottawa.ca/www2/mcs-smc/medias/specialistes-details-528.html

McDowell, Ian: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/mcdowell-ian,

McLean, Linda : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/mclean-linda, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/mclean-linda

Moreau, Nicolas : http://web5.uottawa.ca/www2/mcs-smc/media/experts-details-iframe-967543.html,

O'Sullivan, Tracey : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/osullivan-tracey, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/osullivan-tracey

Pottie, Kevin : https://med.uottawa.ca/family/people/pottie-kevin, https://med.uottawa.ca/familiale/personnes/pottie-kevin

Savard, Sébastien : https://uniweb.uottawa.ca/members/1023

https://uniweb.uottawa.ca/members/1023/profile

Health Equity

Bouchard, Louise : https://uniweb.uottawa.ca/?lang=fr#!uottawa/members/920

https://uniweb.uottawa.ca/?#!uottawa/members/920

Holmes, Dave: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/holmes-dave, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/holmes-dave

Kristjansson, Elizabeth: https://research.uottawa.ca/people/kristjansson-elizabeth.

Perron, Amélie : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/perron-amelie, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/perron-amelie

Rippey, Phyllis : https://uniweb.uottawa.ca/members/984

Welch, Vivian: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/welch-vivian

Health Promotion

Chambers, Larry: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/chambers-larry

Doucet, Éric : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/doucet-eric, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/doucet-eric

Durand-Bush, Natalie : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/durand-bush-natalie, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/durand-bush-natalie

Giles, Audrey : https://web5.uottawa.ca/www2/mcs-smc/medias/specialistes-details-8774.html,

Goldfield, Gary: http://web5.uottawa.ca/www2/mcs-smc/medias/experts-details-998034.html

Lennox Terrion, Jenepher: https://web5.uottawa.ca/www2/mcs-smc/medias/experts-details-528.html

https://web5.uottawa.ca/www2/mcs-smc/medias/specialistes-details-528.html

Reid, Robert : https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/reid-robert,

Tremblay, Mark: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/tremblay-mark,

Health Interventions

Brunet, Jennifer : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/brunet-jennifer, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/brunet-jennifer

Edwards, Nancy: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/edwards-nancy , https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/edwards-nancy

Fallavollita, Pascal: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/fallavollita-pascal, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/fallavollita-pascal

Fitzpatrick, Elizabeth : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/fitzpatrick-elizabeth, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/fitzpatrick-elizabeth

Forgeron, Paula : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/forgeron-paula, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/forgeron-paula

Fortier, Michelle : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/fortier-michelle, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/fortier-michelle

Fraser, Sarah : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/fraser-sarah, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/fraser-sarah

Garcia, Linda : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/garcia-linda, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/garcia-linda

Guitard, Paulette : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/guitard-paulette, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/guitard-paulette

Hatcher, Simon: https://www.uottawa.ca/brain/people/hatcher-simon, https://www.uottawa.ca/cerveau/personnes/hatcher-simon

Jutai, Jeffrey: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/jutai-jeffrey-w, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/jutai-jeffrey-w

Kenny, Glen: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/kenny-glen, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/kenny-glen

Manuel, Douglas: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/manuel-douglas,

O'Connor, Annette : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/oconnor-annette-m, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/oconnor-annette-m

Pilutti, Lara: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/pilutti-lara, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/pilutti-lara

Poitras, Stéphane : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/poitras-stephane, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/poitras-stephane

Potter, Elizabeth : https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/potter-beth,

Quirion, Bastien : https://uniweb.uottawa.ca/?lang=fr#!uottawa/members/816

Stacey, Dawn C. : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/stacey-dawn

Taler, Vanessa : https://www.uottawa.ca/brain/people/taler-vanessa

Wells, George: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/wells-george,

Population Health Technologies

Fallavollita, Pascal: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/fallavollita-pascal, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/fallavollita-pascal

Fraser, Sarah : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/fraser-sarah, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/fraser-sarah

Giguère          , Christian : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/giguere-christian, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/giguere-christian

Hawken, Steven: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/hawken-steven,

Jutai, Jeffrey: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/jutai-jeffrey-w, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/jutai-jeffrey-w

Steffener, Jason : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/steffener-jason, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/steffener-jason

Health Policy and Health Care Management

Andrew, Caroline: https://research.uottawa.ca/people/andrew-caroline

 https://recherche.uottawa.ca/personnes/andrew-caroline

Barrette, Jacques : https://telfer.uottawa.ca/en/directory/professors-emeriti/barrette-jacques, https://telfer.uottawa.ca/fr/repertoire/professeurs-emerites/barrette-jacques

Brand, Kevin : https://telfer.uottawa.ca/en/directory/professors/brand-kevin , https://telfer.uottawa.ca/fr/repertoire/professeurs/brand-kevin

Chreim, Samia: https://telfer.uottawa.ca/en/directory/professors/chreim-samia, https://telfer.uottawa.ca/fr/repertoire/professeurs/chreim-samia

Dahrouge, Simone: https://med.uottawa.ca/family/people/dahrouge-simone, https://med.uottawa.ca/familiale/personnes/dahrouge-simone

Jaana, Mirou : https://telfer.uottawa.ca/en/directory/professors/jaana-mirou, https://telfer.uottawa.ca/fr/repertoire/professeurs/jaana-mirou

Holmes, Dave: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/holmes-dave, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/holmes-dave

Kohen, Dafna: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/kohen-dafna,

Orsini, Michael : http://web5.uottawa.ca/www2/mcs-smc/media/experts-details-583.html,

Wilson, Kumanan: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/wilson-kumanan,

Genetic Epidemiology, Population Health Biostatistics

Baillargeon, Raymond: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/baillargeon-raymond , https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/baillargeon-raymond

Chen, Yue : https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/chen-yue,

Little, Julian: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/little-julian,

Moher, David: https://research.uottawa.ca/people/moher-david, https://recherche.uottawa.ca/personnes/moher-david

Tesson, Frédérique: https://health.uottawa.ca/people/tesson-frederique, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/tesson-frederique

Van Walraven, Carl: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/van-walraven-carl

Wells, George: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/wells-george,

Knowledge Translation

Dumas, Alexandre : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/dumas-alex , https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/dumas-alex

Fontaine-Bisson      , Bénédicte : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/fontaine-bisson-benedicte, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/fontaine-bisson-benedicte

Graham, Ian: https://med.uottawa.ca/epidemiology/people/graham-ian 

Grimshaw, Jeremy: https://research.uottawa.ca/people/grimshaw-jeremy, https://recherche.uottawa.ca/personnes/grimshaw-jeremy

Hogg, William: https://med.uottawa.ca/family/people/hogg-william, https://med.uottawa.ca/familiale/personnes/hogg-william

O'Sullivan, Tracey : https://health.uottawa.ca/people/osullivan-tracey, https://sante.uottawa.ca/personnes/osullivan-tracey

POST-GRADUATION OPPORTUNITIES

The Ph.D. in Population Health prepares students for teaching, administration and research in academic settings and careers in health in the public or private sector.

ADMISSION

Admission requirements

Required documents: 

  • Letter of intent (2 pages)
  • Letters of recommendation
  • Transcripts: You must submit official transcripts from every university you attended. This mandatory requirement applies to all courses and programs at any university you have ever attended, including regular programs (completed or not), exchanges, letters of permission, online or correspondence courses, courses taken as a special student or visiting student, etc.
    If the transcript and degree certificate are not in English or French, you must submit a translation of the transcript that is signed and sealed by a certified translator.
  • Resume (CV)
  • Evidence of language proficiency: TOEFL 550 / IELTS Overall 6.5 - Individual 5.0 (Paper-based) OR TOEFL 79-80 / IELTS Overall 6.5 - Individual 5.0 (Internet-based)
  • Additional information form:  Declaration of Language Competency, Letter of support from the proposed supervisor, knowledge assessment

START YOUR APPLICATION NOW

Application deadlines:
for Canadian and International students: February 1st

Specific Requirements

Back to top